Gabriel’s Inferno Part One – Book to Movie Adaptation Review

Hello, wonderlandians. I’m so excited for this post. You have seen me talk about this company in the past. Today we are talking about Passionflix.

If you don’t know what they are in a nutshell Passionflix is a company that turns romance books into video adaptations. I have reviewed one or two other adaptations that they have done.

I have done a review on Driven. Driven was a very awesome adaptation.

I’m very excited to write this post.

If you would like to watch my review from Nov. of 2012 to see what baby Ashten thought of the book then I would go give it a watch.

This video does contain spoilers!

This is going to be a long post so please bare with me. This is one of my favorite books and I knew that I was going to be critical of this movie because I am such a huge fan of the books.

Okay so I just finished watching the the first part to Gabriel’s Inferno. I have been waiting 8 years to see any kind of adaptation of this book. I was so happy when Passionflix optioned to turn all three books into a movie. One thing that I love about Passionflix is that they are dedicated to bringing you a true adaptation.

The movie was pure magic. I love how much detail that was put into every shot. In an interview with Tosca Musk with dcfilmgirl. Tosca said that she wanted the actors to give her everything they had. It didn’t matter how much time that it took. She could always take away time but not add more.

I love this. It really goes to show how much time and energy that was put into this project.

The cast was fantastic. The chemistry you could cute it with a knife.

Lets talk the main players. There are five in total for part one.

Giulio Berruti plays Gabriel Emerson. He is an Italian actor and was the fan favorite to take on playing Gabriel. In many interview that I have seen you can tell that he takes his job seriously. When it came to the prep work for the character he really put in the work and showed up with detailed notes. There really could not have been a better person to take on this role. His chemistry with Melanie Zanetti who plays Julia Mitchell. These two are fire on screen. When you are watching these two act you are swept up into the movie. It’s like you are actually there.

James Andrew Fraser plays Paul Norris or Angel f*cker as he known by Gabriel. Paul is Julia’s first and really only friend in Canada. When they first announced the cast I was interested to see how he would bring the character life. I was not disappointed.

Margaux Brooke plays Christa Peterson or Gallium as known by Julia. Christa is the bitch of the movie. I was interested to see who would get this part. While I don’t like the character much. I thought Margaux did a wonderful. I love actually watching the characters I love to hate on screen. While in the books I could have done without her. In the movie I loved watching her. There is a scene in the movie between Christa and Julia that I was nervous about because it is one of my favorite scenes in the book and she was perfect in that scene.

Julia Barrett-Mitchell plays Rachel Clarke. I love this character in the books and again was going to be critical with whoever played Rachel. Other that Giulio and Melanie she was my favorite character. She was fantastic. Rachel is great in the books but Julia really brought something out in her that you don’t find in the books and you know that makes her one talented person.

This movie was wonderful to watch and I can see myself watching this over and over again. There was only one part of the whole movie I took issue with. When you get the half and hour mark in the movie there is a where I felt the music choice really didn’t fit the moment. The music was lyrical instead instrumental. Having lyrical music when the actors are talking to each while not a bad thing I just feel that it didn’t fit the scene right.

Other than that the movie was beautifully shot. I can’t wait for part two to come out which should come out this summer. This movie does end on a cliffhanger.

Watch the trailer here

Ownership is to http://passionflix.com/. I own no rights to this.

Thank you all for joining me here in our little part of wonderland. Please don’t forget to feed the unicorns on your way out.

Until next time

Happy reading

Much love

Ashten