Audiobook Review – Heart Throb

He was just another dad at my daughter’s school. Another very hot, “former teen heartthrob” dad. One I couldn’t get involved with.

Lennox Reign was the hottest teen star, over 15 years ago. Now, he’s staring me daggers across the principal’s office.

Not my fault my daughter got in trouble the first day of school and I seem to have “bad mom” stamped on my forehead.

But now, not only do I have to see Lennox and his very grown-up body at school drop off, but we’re working together on the school bake sale.

If he could just stop being a brooding heart-breaker for like two seconds…

He says he wants to keep the past in the past and move forward with his life, but the closer we get and the more I uncover, the more I can’t help falling for the former actor.

The one who I know could easily break me.

And he will.

Review

Don’t look at the disclaimer out of the way. I did receive a code for free in exchange for an honest review. This in no way hinders my personal opinions on this book as you guys know I am always straightforward and honest about how I feel about that. Now that that’s over with let’s get on into the review.

This is a new to me author. Magan Vernon was such a delight to read her book. Although the book is very short it’s 4 1/2 hours long. There is a a lot of content smashed into a very short time period. It typically I’m not a fan of super short audiobooks because I feel like an author is trying to put a full story into a short amount of time. I don’t feel like the author typically takes their time and the story is rushed.

I do believe that the author did a good job of telling the story in such a way that we got all of the information that was relevant. Do I feel like the story could have been expanded to make it longer absolutely. I thought that this was just going to be wrapped up in a nice little bow and everything would be done by the end of the book that is not the case if you’re not a fan of cliffhangers you will not be a fan of this book. But the second book is out so you can just automatically go and get the e-book or physical copy and read it for yourself. Let me tell you that is what I’m going to go do because this cliff hanger. It’s got me hungry I need to finish this duet. Am I sad that the audiobook for the second book is an out? That question is yes because as you guys know I do prefer audiobooks over all other forms. But we will be getting the e-book.

Magan‘s writing style is great. There’s a great ad in flow to her writing you can just sit down and get lost in this world. That’s what happened for me. When a book has the ability to take me away from my troubles are the stress from my day I know the author is doing their job. When the author is writing the dialogue because for me a story yes the setting and the descriptions are super nice but I’m very much dialogue focused. The author writes it in such a way that you feel like you’re part of that conversation. For me that’s what I look for I don’t want anything that feels forced or sounds weird to my ears. Does the Avenue and flow of natural conversation is what I like. And Magan gives me that in every single chapter. When it comes to the main character I absolutely love her she’s a single mom and I don’t read too many books about single moms and single dad’s. But I absolutely loved it so 10 out of 10 recommend this book to you.

Now when I first for the narrators name Hannah Baker. All I can hear in my head is welcome to your tape.

Anyway Miss Hannah baker is a new narrator to me as well. So we are getting a lot of firsts in this post. Hannah did such an amazing job and you guys know I’m very picky about my narrators. She had a really good range when it came to the voices. There weren’t too many because it was such a condensed time but for the characters that we did have it there was individual voices for each of them. Extra points for her pulling off little kids voices. She enunciate really well there were no other accents except a southern one and I thought she pulled it off really well it sounded truly authentic.

Since I’m not a sound engineer everything sounded good. I have no complaints they were new awkward pauses there was no background noise so all in all I think the engineers did a great.

Will you guys be checking out this book if you do leave me a comment to let me know? If you read this book what are you guys think about it leave me a comment?

Until next time

Happy reading

Much love

Ashten

Leave a comment